Austin360 On The Record: Jeremy Nail, A Giant Dog

View Caption Hide Caption

12IN_GATEFOLD_JKT_2PKTJeremy Nail, “My Mountain.” The bluesy opening track of Jeremy Nail’s new album “My Mountain” references natural forces, a recurring theme on the record. Tides and waves gently propel the rhythm of “Down to the Ocean”; a river flows to the sea in tranquil tones of “The Great Mystery”; trails and pastures dot the dreamlike journey to the “New Frontier.” But that mountain in the first song is more than just a metaphor. Read the full story in our Austin360 Artist of the Month feature. Release show 10 p.m. Friday, May 6, at Strange Brew; also catch Nail and his band earlier Friday on KUTX for a 2 p.m. live-in-studio broadcast. Seeour Statesman live video for the track “Survive” above.

AGiantDogAlbumCoverA Giant Dog, “Pile” (Merge). In an American-Statesman feature on the band, writer Chad Swiatecki says that A Giant Dog’s new album “finds the 8-year-old band pushing itself beyond the fast and loud snarl of its earlier work and adding surprising compositional elements throughout its 15 tracks. There are touches like the raucous barrelhouse piano on first single ‘Sex And Drugs,’ ’60s-era girl group pop on ‘Jizzney,’ and the restrained and elegiac ‘Get With You and Get High’ that features vocals from Spoon frontman Britt Daniel, who’s been a longtime supporter of the band.” Release show Saturday, May 7, at Barracuda. Here’s the track ‘Get With You and Get High’:

Also: Beth Lee & the Breakups, “Keep Your Mouth Shut,” release show Thursday, May 5, at One-2-One Bar; Sam Baker, “Live at the Folly,” release show 8 p.m. Friday, May 6, at Strange Brew.


MAY 13: John Evans, “Polyester,” release show May 13 at Continental Club, in-store May 19 at Waterloo Records.

MAY 13: A. Sinclair, “Get Out of the City,” release show May 14 at ABGB.

MAY 13: Migrant Kids, “Primordial Soup” EP (Pure Joy).

MAY 13: Star Parks, “Don’t Dwell” (Paper Trail).

MAY 13: Aaron Einhouse, “It Ain’t Pretty (Vision), playing May 28 at Rebels Saloon.

MAY 14: The Deer, “Tempest & Rapture,” release show May 14 at the Parish.

MAY 27: Boyfrndz, “Impulse” (Brutal Panda), release show May 27 at Sidewinder.

MAY 27: Megafauna, “Welcome Home.”

MAY: Cotton Mather, “Songs From the I Ching,” first in a series of vinyl releases collecting 64 digital tracks.

MAY: Emily Gimble, title TBA.

JUNE 5: Kidlat Punch, “If Only We Could Hear Them” (We’re Trying).

JUNE 10: Shawn Colvin & Steve Earle, “Colvin & Earle” (Fantasy).

JUNE 10: Charlie Faye & the Fayettes, self-titled, release show May 6 at Strange Brew.

JUNE: Jack Ingram, “Midnight Motel” (Rounder).

JULY 15: Nightowls, “Royal Sessions” EP, release show July 15 at Scoot Inn.

View Comments 0

%d bloggers like this: